Tags

, , ,

After not having touched any of my creative projects for two or three days, I decided it was time to work on at least one of them.

First up: scrappy basket weave quilt top. I have two sections done of 5 rows each, just need to finish the last section. So today I assembled blocks I already had done into one row then had to start assembling blocks for a second row.  These are the strips I’ve been using:

Image

All the fabric I’m using on this quilt comes from my scrap tote (which holds all strips and anything smaller than a fat quarter). So why does my scrap tote not seem any less filled? I swear fabric scraps multiply more than rabbits do.

Occasionally within this quilt, I’m throwing in other blocks, as though they are goodies in the basket. I have one butterfly block in each row:

Image

 

These are the butterflies I assembled today for the last three rows. It’s a simple pattern that I drafted on graph paper, after seeing some different patterns online. I started making the butterflies after someone in a Facebook group started asking for butterfly patterns, and then discovered what I had made worked perfectly for this project.

I might have posted this before, but this is a part of one of the sections already finished:

Image

Each row is 12 blocks across, and the finished top will be 15 blocks long. Each block is 5″ finished. Not sure if I’ll add a border when the top is finished, or not. Guess I’ll see how it looks when I’m done.  🙂

And, because quilters can’t live on coffee alone (although sometimes we try!), on Friday afternoon I made banana cake. It’s just a recipe from one of the Sunday food inserts, from Kraft I think because of the sour cream brand recommended. But I make it more like a snack cake: three bananas, nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream for more protein, and no frosting. My husband and I have been snacking on it all weekend, we both like it so much. You can find the basic recipe here if you want to try it yourself: http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/banana-sour-cream-cake-57771.aspx. I’d have another piece now (just thinking about it is making me hungry!), but I have to make supper soon.

And later, after supper, I’ll go back to hand quilting my husband’s quilt. I’m on the 3rd block of the third row; each of the 6 rows has 7 blocks. Hoping I can finish it while it’s still cold enough he’ll want to use it.  🙂

Cheers, and hope y’all have a great week!

