Tags

,

Okay, so I had an iced latte with my hot breakfast; what can I say, my coffee is ALWAYS cold, even if it’s even colder outside. I can only drink hot coffee when I’m eating a really sweet dessert.

Yesterday morning I made one of my favorite hot breakfasts, and thought I’d share the recipe with anyone who is interested. I can’t eat oatmeal so I’ve had to find other options for breakfast. This isn’t one I would have thought of until I saw a version of it somewhere else. If you need to cook for more than two servings, this is an easy recipe to double. And if you want more than two fruits, go for it! I’ve made this with fresh apple and dried cranberries and raisins, or raisins and dried cherries, or raisins and dried cherries and chopped dried apricots, or… You get the idea.

BREAKFAST COUSCOUS

1 1/4 cup water and milk (whatever ratio you prefer; I use 1 c. lactose-free fat-free milk and 1/4 c. water)
1/2 c. uncooked couscous
1/4 c. one dried fruit
1/4 c. another dried fruit or finely chopped apple
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 c. chopped nuts 

In a small saucepan, bring the liquid almost to a boil over medium-high heat. (Watch if you use a high milk content — it can boil over the pot sides REALLY fast!) Stir in all ingredients except nuts; cover tightly, remove from heat, and let sit undisturbed for 5-10 minutes, or until almost all liquid is absorbed. Stir in chopped nuts, if using. Serve. Makes at least 2 servings.

While I was heating up the leftover couscous this morning, my eye fell on a poor little forlorn bag of chocolate chips left from my holiday baking. It was barely 2 tablespoons, so I dumped in the chips with the nuts after I was done heating the couscous. The couscous wasn’t very hot (I just needed to make it a little warmer as it had been in the fridge), so the chips didn’t melt. I decided this is one of my favorite new add-ins.  🙂

What is your go-to hot breakfast for a cold winter morning?

