Tags

, ,

Well, things on my Etsy site were going swimmingly, until I found out I accidentally used the same name as another person who sold quilted items (although she wasn’t selling them on Etsy, which is why I was able to use the name). She politely asked that I change names to avoid confusing people, and as I’m the new kid on the block in this stuff, I’m going along with her request. Time to put the thinking cap back on!

I came up with several possibilities, and this time tried to do MUCH more searching to see if they were available. I kept coming back to one of them, and it didn’t appear anywhere on Google or other search engines, and Etsy allowed me to use it, so I’m going with it — and keeping my fingers crossed. So the new name is…

An Extra Shot of Quilt.

Kind of quirky, a little different, hopefully a little memorable. Keeps my love of caffeine in the name, as well as quilts. Do you have any idea how many people out there either blog about or sell quilted items? Many of the possible names I came up with had already been used (my husband even suggested “The Q”, but that was also in use). So this seemed different enough that I wouldn’t run into more problems with it. Also, almost as important, it would work perfectly with the graphic my husband had created for my Etsy store cover photo. Good graphics are harder to come up with than good names!  🙂

So, if you haven’t already, you can check out my shop at www.etsy.com/shop/ExtraShotofQuilt and see what kinds of new things I’ve been teaching myself how to make. I can’t believe how addicting business card holders are to make: colorful little things that come together in no time! So, yeah, there are several of them on there right now. I promise I’ll try to make other things, too. Here is one of my favorites:

Image

If you are curious how I come up with things to sell, you can also check out the Facebook page for the store, at www.facebook.com/extrashotofquilt. Contribute ideas of things I should make to sell, view some of the gorgeous fabric I play with (yes, I’m one of those who walks through a fabric store, feeling almost every bolt I walk by, I can’t help it), get previews of future projects.

And now, if you’ll forgive me, I have to go sew something other than business card holders.  🙂

