That’s kind of the challenge I faced: I had two half yards of fabric, and wanted to make a wedding gift (okay, it was belated, I admit). One piece was perfect for the bride, and the other piece I bought while I was out fabric shopping with my mom. (Note: this post was written the day I made these items, but I couldn’t put the post up until after the bride and groom received them.) This is what I came up with!

First up: two placemats. If I had more of the backing fabric, I could have made 4, but we’re sticking with the challenge here. I guess if they have guests they’ll have to use something else. These finished approximately 12″ x 17″.

IMG_1719

This second photo shows the backing fabric, a blue print on white that kind of looks like water.IMG_1721

Second, a large potholder/trivet. I like having a larger potholder to use for some of the casserole dishes, and thought this might work for them, too. This one uses two layers of cotton batting, instead of the one layer used in the placemats, to give extra protection. It’s approximately 7.5″ x 9.5″.

IMG_1724

Finally, two smaller potholders that can also be used as trivets. Again, two layers of cotton batting. I do have some InsulBrite around here, but part of my goal was to use up some of the batting scraps left from all the larger quilt projects I’ve done. These are approximately 6.5″ square.

IMG_1726

All of these items were machine pieced and then machine quilted, with light grey thread. I tried to emphasize the water/waves aspect with the quilting, without doing too much. Not sure if you can see it in the photos here, but I’m happy with how they turned out.

So how much fabric do I have left after these? Not much. Of the duck fabric, I have two pieces that are a total of 7″ x 13″ together, and one of those pieces is actually two sewn together. There’s a bit more of the backing fabric, but not by much. Both fabrics are small enough to be added to my scrap bin (which needs another “scrap buster” quilt project to make more room!).

