Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, maybe not so much lazy  as, “I don’t have to go to work this week, yay!” days of August. I’m off all week, but have lots planned to do!

First up: working on our porch with my husband. He’s off a few days this week, so we agreed to spend part of our time sanding old paint off of our porch so it can be painted. There’s a lot of really old paint on this thing, which means there is a lot to sand. A sander only can get so much, so there is a lot of hand work to be done. Bit by bit, it’s looking worse (which is the point at first, right?). If it was “shabby chic” before, it’s now looking more like “abandoned home”. Lots more sanding to do, but it’s too warm right now, so on to other things.

Part of the reason I took this week off was to watch the first round of US Open tennis. I love watching the early rounds, where you get to see so many up-and-coming tennis players, some of whom shine on the NY stage like no other. Favorite week of tennis. So, I’m also working on hand quilting my husband’s quilt, as that gives me the perfect place to watch/listen to the tennis matches.

Last block on the penultimate row of my husband's quilt. He's been so patient waiting for this, hopefully it will get done by the time the cold weather hits!

Last block on the penultimate row of my husband’s quilt. He’s been so patient waiting for this, hopefully it will get done by the time the cold weather hits!

There are other projects I need to tackle this week, too, so variety will definitely be the word of the week. Other goals this week:

– Finish a wall hanging that has a hand quilted center. I finished the hand quilting, then decided I hated the border (which had no quilting on it, it was too narrow, so it was easy to remove without damaging the rest of the quilt). I picked out other fabrics to use as borders (two shades of green), now I have to figure out how to add them to the center.

Hand quilted center, showing batting, and new fabric for outer border. and probably binding.

Hand quilted center, batting, and new fabric for outer border and probably binding.

– Finish a tote bag that goes with my husband’s works, a Lucky the Vicious tote bag. I thought I was almost done, then realized the sides and bottom had major problems. A solution came to me while I was trying to get to sleep one night, so I need to try that and see if it works. If not, … well, I guess I’ll just have to take the tote apart and make a smaller bag out of it. Don’t want to waste the Lucky the Vicious logo.

This is Lucky the Vicious, a logo from my husband's series of novels, "The .40 Caliber Mouse". I thought it would be fun to make fabric items that fit in his novels' universe.

This is Lucky the Vicious, a logo from my husband’s series of novels, “The .40 Caliber Mouse”. I thought it would be fun to make fabric items that fit in his novels’ universe.

– Try making a small purse. I have some interesting fabric my mom sent me from her stash, and a pattern for a small cross-body bag, so that seems like a good project this week. The pattern appears to be something I can tweak to my tastes, but I’ve never made a purse so we’ll see.  🙂

Fabric from my mom. It seems to have been something before, as there are seams for me to undo, but not sure what it was.  :)

Fabric from my mom. It seems to have been something before, as there are seams for me to undo, but not sure what it was. 🙂

– Make another wallet based on a pattern I tried earlier this year and wasn’t totally happy with. I need to figure this out. I’m hoping, if I can get it to work, I might be able to make some to sell in my Etsy store or at the Christkindlmarkt in December. Sales have been slow, so I need to come up with other things that might interest people.

So much to do, and only one week off! Time to get back to work…

