Tags

, ,

One of the interesting side effects of deciding to make things to sell: my fabric stash has grown much more than it has shrunk! At least so far. I guess my stash was pretty boring, relatively speaking, because people tend to say things like, “Oh, that’s pretty, do you have that in orange?” (Or bright pink, or some other bright color.) My sewing student tends to go for the brighter colors, too. Which means that I have to buy more fabric. Hmm. I guess, at some point, I’ll have enough brighter fabrics on hand that I won’t have to make a run to the fabric store just to finish a request.

Some of the fabrics I picked up once I started making things to sell. The cherry blossom-like fabric has already been claimed by my sewing student for her small quilted purse, our next project.

Some of the fabrics I picked up once I started making things to sell. The cherry blossom-like fabric has already been claimed by my sewing student for her small quilted purse, our next project.

I’ve also found myself picking up more large-print patterns, too, including large florals. Those would have been anathema to me before I started this process of spreading out.

Which all reinforces my original thought that trying to make things to sell would force me to open my mind, spread my wings, and be a bit more daring than I had been in the past.

