Tags

, , , ,

So, this month has been busy. My sewing student wanted to try making a zippered pencil case, so I had to find a pattern I liked for that. She had wanted to make one that was three dimensional, not just flat. I thought I had a good pattern, and made a test piece before she came over.

Is it supposed to look like this? Goofy thing didn't want to stay under my needle, despite all the pins.

Is it supposed to look like this? Goofy thing didn’t want to stay under my needle, despite all the pins.

Um, no. You aren’t supposed to be able to see the batting once it’s sewn. Oops! So I quickly switched to flat case mode, and came up with something that would be much easier for her.

On the left is the flattened first case. On the right is the left-handed case.

On the left is the flattened first case. On the right is the left-handed case.

Much nicer. So nice, in fact, someone asked if she could buy it. I made a second one with the zipper going the other way, thinking it would be kind of a left-handed pencil case.

Then someone asked, hey, I really like that fabric, can you make a tissue pack holder from it? Hmm, okay, time to find another pattern. Found one,  made it, didn’t like it, altered it. (Are you sensing a trend here?) Prefer the overlap look, which protects the tissues better than the original pattern, which had a big ol’ gap on top.

Holder with gap was first attempt. I added about an inch to the original length so I could get the overlap.

Holder with gap was first attempt. I added about an inch to the original length so I could get the overlap.

And then, you know, these little things are so fun I just had to make more. Pink was the name of the game for my sewing student’s pencil case, so she worked with one pink print while I worked with the other. And with the scraps from the case I made, what else, another tissue holder! (Although I accidentally sewed it wrong side out. I mean, yes, I meant to make it that way…)

PINK! Those who know me well: try not to faint, please.

PINK! Those who know me well: try not to faint, please.

And I just couldn’t stop with the little things. Hey, is that an appropriate sized scrap?

Love, love, love this batik, especially as it isn't pink.  :)

Love, love, love this batik, especially as it isn’t pink. 🙂

I’m not sure there is any point in listing these on my Etsy store, as small things don’t seem to sell for me there, but I’ll stock up on them for the next craft fair I sell at. Which means I’ll have to make a bunch more, probably using some of my mountain of Christmas fabric, for next December’s Christkindlmarkt.

Okay, enough little stuff. I’ll be making those things all year, I think. I also finished what might be the nicest non-quilted tote bag I’ve made to date:

Best bag yet. Hope I can duplicate it with future bags!

Best bag yet. Hope I can duplicate it with future bags!

IMG_2038

View of two of the pockets inside the tote bag.

I was originally going to just have the orangey with flowers fabric on the outside, and the tomato soup red fabric on the inside. Then I decided to have a bit more fun with it. Going with a semi-color block style, I based the outside on how much fabric I happened to have cut earlier, with the emphasis on the flowered fabric, and did a similar thing for the inside. The pockets (four, one that is split to hold pens, one that is large enough for a large smart phone, and two that can hold keys or a business card holder/small wallet) were made entirely of scraps. I triple-stitched the handles, which are long enough to carry the bag comfortably on your shoulder. Yes, I do love this bag. If it was in blues and greens it would fit me perfectly! So I guess it will be perfect for someone else.

I think my next project will need to be muted grays or something. Oh, wait, still need to make a boxy pencil case out of PINKS with my student. Sigh. Sunglasses need to come back out…  🙂

