Tags

, , , ,

While working on sewing projects lately, I was feeling like I was part of a children’s book. Couldn’t put my finger on it immediately. It was when I was adding yet another change to a project that I realized what it was: I was reminded of Bartholomew Cubbins’ 500 hats.

First purse to include a zipper.

First purse to include a zipper.

For those who are not familiar with the story, Bartholomew keeps taking off hats, and for a while they are all the same. But at one point the hats start getting fancier until he ends up with a hat that is the envy of the king.  (You can find out a bit about the story from the Wikipedia page, but I highly recommend reading the story yourself!)

Second purse to include a zipper, plus a loop inside.

Second purse to include a zipper, plus a loop inside.

I’m not claiming that what I’m making is ever going to get that grandiose. I just keep adding things like an extra set of pockets here, a zipper there, and hey why not a tab or loop in this one? The projects just keep growing under my sewing machine.

Who knows how the next one will be different?  🙂

